Historic UFC Lightweight Champions

A list of all historic belt holders in the UFC’s 155 pound Lightweight Division



Belt Holder

Won belt at



Title Defenses

Jens Pulver UFC 30 February 23, 2001 Atlantic City, New Jersey

– defeated Dennis Hallman at UFC 33 on Sept 28, 2001 in Las Vegas, NV

– defeated BJ Penn at UFC 35 on January 11, 2002 in Uncasville, CT

– After leaving the UFC over a contract dispute, Pulver was stripped of the Lightweight title

UFC 41 featured a 4-man tournament for the vacant UFC Lightweight Championship, but BJ Penn fought Caol Uno to a draw

Sean Sherk UFC 64 October 14, 2006 Las Vegas, Nevada

– defeated Hermes Franca at UFC 73 on July 7, 2007 in Sacramento, CA

– Sherk was stripped of the title due to a positive post-fight test for anabolic steroids on December 8, 2007

BJ Penn UFC 80 January 19, 2008 Newcastle upon Tyne, England

– defeated Sean Sherk at UFC 84 on May 24, 2008 in Las Vegas, NV

– defeated Kenny Florian at UFC 101 on August 8, 2009 in Philadelphia, PA

– defeated Diego Sanchez at UFC 107 on December 12, 2009 in Memphis, TN


Frankie Edgar UFC 112 April 10, 2010 Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

– defeated BJ Penn at UFC 118 on August 28, 2010 in Boston, MA

– fought Gray Maynard to a Draw at UFC 125 on January 1, 2011 in Las Vegas, NV


 Benson Henderson  UFC 144  Feb. 26, 2012  Saitama, Japan
Be Sociable, Share!

Leave a reply

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>